Govt. inject Rs. 7,577 cr into Six public sector banks

The government has injected Rs. 7,577 cr into various six public sector banks to improve the financial conditions of the weaker banks.  Bank of India which was recently placed under prompt corrective action by the Reserve Bank of India received capital of ₹2,257 crore and IDBI received ₹2,729 crore from the govt. The other public-sector banks which received the capital support from the govt. includes - Central Bank of India got ₹323 crore, Dena Bank has got ₹243 crore and UCO Bank got ₹1,375 crore and Bank of Maharashtra has received the capital support of ₹650 crore. Earlier the Reserve Bank of India imposed the prompt corrective action on eight weaker public-sector banks. The banks are - Oriental Bank of Commerce (OBC), IDBI Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, UCO Bank, Central bank of India, DENA, Bank of Maharastra and Corporation bank.