Jai Ram Thakur sworn-in as chief minister of Himachal Pradesh

Jai Ram Thakur (52-year) along with his 11 ministers, took the oath of secrecy from Himachal Pradesh’s Governor ‘Acharya Devvrat’ at the historic Ridge Maidan in Shimla. The Ministers who took oath include Mahendra Singh, Suresh Bhardwaj, Anil Sharma and Vipin Singh Parmar. Thakur is elected to ‘Himachal Pradesh Assembly election 2017’ from Seraj in Mandi. It is for the first time that a prime minister has attended the oath-taking ceremony of a chief minister in Himachal Pradesh. The BJP has won 44 seats in the 68-member house.